French technical death metallers CATALYST announce new album “A Different Painting For A New World” to be released on October 14th via Non Serviam Records. Pre-orders available now!

Recently French technical death metallers CATALYST announced their signing with one of the most passionate labels in the extreme metal, Non Serviam Records.

The band has just unveiled the first details of their hugely anticipated second album “A Different Painting For A New World”, to be released as digipak CD, 2LP gatefold and digital on October 14th 2022 through Non Serviam Records. The pre-orders of the new album are available here:




“A Different Painting For A New World”, which was produced by HK Krauss at Vamacara Studio (Loudblast, Sinsaneum, Dagoba, among others), brings you to enigmatic field of brutality and epicness.

The original story of “the Catalyst”, vital core character of the band’s concept, is being carried through these 10 brand new tracks. As a “concept band”, CATALYST tells an original story of a universe brought to life by 9 Lords, originally protecting its integrity, but now corrupted by the almighty Creator. In this new chapter, the Catalyst now needs to purify that world, contaminated by the Creator’s madness and chaos. It tells the birth of a better world through destruction, but also about the battle of two entities fighting for different beliefs.

The stunning artwork was created by the French visionary Above Chaos (Meshuggah, Moonsorrow, etc.).

The new album is well on its way to be released, and will hit much harder than the first one did. The work we’ve put into it will strike your ears with ferocious and overwhelming brutality, and we’re more than ready to hit stages to show how much of a banger this is going to be when played live! It was a lot of work to create this full hour of intense music, it took us several years to get to this point. The release for this album was delayed two times, so it was really hard for us to wait until the release. But now we are ready! We are very proud of the result, it’s a complex yet quite accessible album”, comments the mastermind Jules Kicka.

“A Different Painting For A New World” Track Listing:

  1. Gathering Of New Forces
  2. To Unleash Thy Heinous Fate
  3. The Last Warning
  4. Worms and Locusts
  5. Arise Of The Anathema
  6. Paragon Of Devastation
  7. Behold Thy Purification
  8. Peripeteia
  9. The Catalyst’s End
  10. A Different Painting For A New World

The first taste of the new album will be available on August 16th.

Founded in 2017 by Jules Kicka, CATALYST is a 4-piece death metal act from France, dragging the old-school sound forward to open it up to a more contemporary, technical and progressive shade, apart from its kind.

After a well-received debut EP “Dawn Of A Dreadful Fate” (2017) and the critically acclaimed album “The Great Purpose Of The Lords” (2019), CATALYST are now ready to unleash their devastating sophomore album on October 14th 2022.


Jefferson Brand – Bass / Back vocals

Jules Kicka – Guitar / Vocals

Stéphane Petit – Drums / Back vocals

Florian Iochem – Guitar / Back vocals