SOULS OF DIOTIMA – unveil the lyric video for the title track ‘Janas’

Italian female fronted metal band SOULS OF DIOTIMA will release their fourth studio album, titled “Janas”, on January 29th 2021 via Diotima Records/Rockshots Records.

Today SOULS OF DIOTIMA unleash the lyric video for the title track ‘Janas’.


Commenting on the new single the founder member, lyricist and drummer Giorgio Pinna says: “Along with ‘The Black Mask’, this song best represents the essence of the entire album. It tells the story of the Janas, fictional fairy creatures found around our island, who are depicted on the album cover. They lived inside small caves carved into the rock and only came out on full moon nights. They are portrayed as small, winged fairies, with a beautiful, delicate appearance. They are also described by Grazia Deledda, a Sardinian writer and Nobel prize winner in literature, as ‘largely evil little creatures’, because despite their deceptive appearance, they were not angelic in the slightest. They were enchantresses who bewitched with their beauty, with the power to decide the fate of human beings, often choosing an unfortunate destiny. According to many stories, the Janas kidnapped humans, especially males, to suck their blood. They also stole from their victims and kept their treasures hidden inside their caves”.

“Janas” was recorded, mixed and mastered by Oscar Nilsson at Crehate Studios in Mölndal (Sweden).

The album “Janas” is a concept, the second chapter of a journey that began with the previous album, “The Sorceress Reveals – Atlantis”. “Janas” tells the stories and legends of band’s land, Sardinia. Their island is full of wonderful mythological tales and characters, of esoteric stories that are often macabre, but which portray a truly fascinating historical and cultural journey.

We have a shared interest in the history and culture of the peoples of the sea, of the Mediterranean, and we are one of them. Much of Western history is rooted in the tales of the peoples of the sea, skilled conquerors who crossed the seas to conquer new lands or to defend their own. But there is more. Within Sardinia there are places that often remain undiscovered. Far from the more accessible touristic locations, these places are steeped in stories both true and fictitious, which we were often told during our childhood, and which probably formed the basis of our personality and the way we see the world. In brief, ‘Janas’ talks about these stories, about us, and about the Earth we have been walking on since we were born”, enthuses Pinna.

“Janas” pre-orders are available now at

Pre-save, listen and download on all digital platforms:

“Janas” track list:
1. The Black Mask
2. Sleep Demon
3. The Princess Of Navarra
4. Janas
5. The Dark Lady
6. Ichnos Superhero
7. My Roots
8. Maty
9. Mediterranean Lane
10. Sherden

Recently the band unveiled the first single ‘The Black Mask’.




SOULS OF DIOTIMA is a band with a unique style, featuring recognizable elements of traditional, progressive and symphonic metal, as well as unconventional elements, woven together musically in a powerfully expressive new way. Their style recalls Mediterranean atmospheres and traditions, and you can call it “Mediterranean Metal”.

Claudia Barsi – Lead Vocals
Giorgio Pinna – Drums
Antonio Doro – Bass, Scream Vocals
Fabio “The Black Mask” Puddu – Guitars