VAREGO – reveal the new single and lyric video for ‘Tunnel’

After the success of the first single, the Italian post prog trio VAREGO is glad to reveal ‘Tunnel’, the second track taken from their new self-titled album “Varego”, out on June 11, 2021.

Watch the lyric video for ‘Tunnel’ here:
Listen/Download ‘Tunnel’ here:

The singer and bass player Davide Marcenaro comments: “Tunnel is a song with a strong emotional impact, which is why we chose it as the album opening. We tried to translate the meaning of the words and the story into music by contrasting a heavy and anxious intro with an airy and open chorus, with the guitar creating a real ‘lyrical’ line. The song is inspired by a story of my mother and is about the vision of a little girl in wartime, when the terrible sound of the air-raid siren was heard and consequently women, old people and children took refuge in the (still existing) tunnels that winded through the bowels of the village. One day the parish was hit by a bomb and a bricklayer working nearby was unable to save himself and lost his life”.

Watch also the video for the first single ‘Limbo’ here:

Pre-orders of “Varego” are now available here:
CD Digipack:

The band’s fourth studio album, “Varego”, was recorded in a few days almost entirely in real time at Greenfog Studio in Genoa, with producer Mattia Cominotto (Meganoidi, Tre Allegri ragazzi Morti) who also did the mixing and mastering.

The album preserves the strength of the wildness and the organicity of the songwriting, leading to a new maturity.

VAREGO’s sound found a new fresh energy and it is significantly more powerful, an exanthema with grunge echoes, stoner rock riffs, post metal and prog rock nuances, that pushes the evolution of the group one step further.

It’s the manifest result of a creative peak and, in the meantime, a point of arrival and a new start.

“The special feature of this new album is its instinctiveness. The composition of the songs was written on the spur of the moment, in fact in the studio we wanted to give this feeling by recording all the rhythmic parts, including the guitar, in real time. The lyrics are about war, drugs, madness, death and everything that poisons the lives of human beings, trying to ‘exorcise’ and transform all this poison into medicine. Also on a musical level, the intention is to make people feel that darkness and light are complementary, the two sides of the coin called life”, states the band.

Like the coal reveals the diamond over time, in this new record VAREGO know how to refine their visceral instinct, transforming it into a definite and incisive force. Their poisonous properties have become the exacerbated healing balm to the discomfort of today’s world.

“Varego” tracklist:


  1. Limbo
  2. Death
  3. Needles
  4. One
  5. Wave
  6. Raptus (Un passo e muori)

Davide Marcenaro – vocals, bass
Alberto Pozzo – guitars
Simon Lepore – drums

VAREGO online: